Tae Kim's Guide to Japanese Forum

To address questions and improvements for the Japanese Grammar Guide as well as topics concerning Japanese in general.

You are not logged in.

#1 2006-12-18 21:18:10

brendanmiller

Difference between "ifs" : tara and ba form.

As far as I can tell there's no coverage of the following

Okay: 東京に来たら、連絡してください。
Not okay: 東京に行けば、連絡してください。

If the subject is the same in both "halves" of the sentence, and there is volition in both parts, you can't use the "ba" form.

If that situation, if you wished to steer away from the colloquial over-tones of "tara" you have to do something like the following.

東京へ来ましたら、ご連絡してください。

At least, that's what I was taught. Is that right? I'm still a beginner.

#2 2006-12-18 21:25:55

Faumdano

Re: Difference between "ifs" : tara and ba form.

東京に来たら、連絡してください。 When you arrive in Tokyo, please contact me.
東京に行けば、連絡してください。 If you go to Tokyo, then you will please contact me.

The "wrongness" of the second is born mostly of the sort of condition ば sets up versus たら.

~たら
~ば
~なら(ば)
~と

Are in no way always interchangable, as I'm sure you're aware. In light of that, maybe it would be a good idea to include something, somewhere on just what sort of restrictions each conditional form govered in the guide has (in general)...

[edit] Though I'm not sure how practical it would be... Saburooさん has a huuuuuuuuuge section devoted to these very differences.

http://www.geocities.jp/niwasaburoo/49jouken.html

Last edited by Faumdano (2006-12-18 21:27:55)

蒔かぬ種は生えぬ

#3 2006-12-18 23:38:46

taniwha

And I'm almost there smile (I've been reading the whole book from the beginning). Excellent book overall, and even better practice.

Leave others their otherness. -- Aratak
There is no can't. -- Duun

#4 2006-12-19 03:09:44

Yokohama

There is no such Japanese as 東京に行けば、連絡してください, it doesn't make any sense.
It should be 東京に行くようになれば、連絡してください( If you will go to Tokyo, you will please call me.)