Tae Kim's Guide to Japanese Forum

THIS FORUM IS NOW CLOSED TO NEW REGISTRATIONS BUT LEFT FOR PROSPERITY!

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-10 22:43:39

Shiido

How do you speak more manly in Japanese?

Hi.
I've been studying Japanese for 6 months now. My Japanese colleague told me that when I speak Japanese I sound "girlish". I asked him how can I sound more manly, he ignores me. I guess I sound  girlish because I learned my Japanese intonations and vocabs from my Girlfriend. So can anyone help me sound more manly?
Thank you

#2 2008-04-10 23:56:57

Gestalt

Re: How do you speak more manly in Japanese?

Couple of tips:

a)  In general, when speaking as second language people tend to be a bit more stressed than their native language, making their voice rise up a litte higher than usual.  This can be the cause of comments like the one your colleague made. Keep your voice at your normal pitch.

b)  Intonation. About 50% of 'sounding manly' is having the right intonation over the whole sentence. Girls do have a particular tone and cadence which won't
help you if you copy it. Sorry, can't really explain this better over the internet, but the key is to listen and copy guys.

c) "Girls" langugage - if you've been copying what girls say you may well be using a lot of phrases which girls tend to use but guys don't so much. This also ties up with b) above

#3 2008-04-11 00:47:12

Shiido

Thanks Gestalt

I have a problem though since I don't have any Japanese males to talk to, I won't be able to copy the way they talk.  I would try asking my colleague but he almost never speaks in Japanese. Do you have a general tip?
I don't really copy my girlfriend on purpose, she's the only one I talk Japanese with on a daily basis.

This is going to be a big problem, and I thought I was doing well with my Japanese.

#4 2008-04-11 01:20:47

You just need to hook up with some japanese blokes and get drunk with them.

#5 2008-04-11 03:09:26

pink~hime